Filter by Price
Filter by Date printed
Map or print
Artist or cartographer
Subject matter

James, Henry

Henry James (1803-1877) was director-general of the Ordnance Survey between 1854 and 1875, in which capacity he oversaw the maps produced for the 1867 Boundary Commission. 196 plans of English Boroughs and 51 of Welsh Boroughs were produced, of which we stock a selection. The boundary maps were prepared under the direction of Captain R M Parsons by lithographic transfer with overprinted colour representing the parliamentary boundary of 1832, the proposed Parliamentary boundary of 1868, the municipal boundary, and the parish and township boundaries. During James’s tenure the standard 1:2500 scale was adopted. His advocacy of the new technique of photo-zincography led to it becoming a standard process in the production of Ordnance Survey maps.