Filter by Price
Filter by Date printed
Map or print
Artist or cartographer
Subject matter

Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

The Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food (MAFF) was a United Kingdom government department created by the Board of Agriculture Act 1889. It was dissolved in 2002 at which point its responsibilities were merged into the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra). The Agricultural Land Classification maps categorise land into five main categories reflecting their quality for agricultural use. The maps use Ordnance Survey One-inch to the mile Seventh Series maps for their base topography, and a coloured overprint to indicate the respective land quality. The Classification was introduced by MAFF in the 1960s, with assistance from the Soil Survey of England and Wales, and the Welsh Office Agriculture Department.